WEST OXFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of the Development Control Committee Held in the Council Chamber at 2.27 pm on Wednesday, 24 May 2023

PRESENT

Councillors: Julian Cooper (Chair), Michael Brooker (Vice-Chair), Alaa Al-Yousuf, Hugo Ashton, Andrew Beaney, Rachel Crouch, Colin Dingwall, Phil Godfrey, Andy Goodwin, Andy Graham, Jeff Haine, David Jackson, Nick Leverton, Andrew Lyon, Charlie Maynard, Lysette Nicholls, Rizvana Poole, Andrew Prosser, Harry St John, Tim Sumner, Mark Walker, Adrian Walsh, Alex Wilson and Alistair Wray

Officers: Giles Hughes (Chief Executive), Andrew Brown (Business Manager, Democratic Services and Interim Monitoring Officer), Max Thompson (Senior Democratic Services Officer), Barry Clack (Communications Officer), Michelle Ouzman (Democratic Services Officer), Anne Learmonth (Democratic Services Officer), and Maria Harper (Democratic Services Administrator).

Other Councillors in attendance: Joy Aitman, Thomas Ashby, Andrew Coles, David Cooper, Jane Doughty, Duncan Enright, Edward James, Mark Johnson, Natalie King, Liz Leffman, Dan Levy, Martin McBride, Michele Mead, David Melvin, Mathew Parkinson, Rosie Pearson, Elizabeth Poskitt, Carl Rylett, Geoff Saul, Sandra Simpson, Ruth Smith and Liam Walker

18 Election of Chair

The Chair of the Council, Councillor Andrew Coles, opened the meeting.

Democratic Services relayed to Council the names of Members who had been appointed to the Council's Development Control Committee, who were:

Councillors:

- Julian Cooper
- Andy Goodwin
- David Jackson
- Charlie Maynard
- Hugo Ashton
- Phil Godfrey
- Lidia Arciszewska
- Alistair Wray
- Tim Sumner
- Colin Dingwall
- Adrian Walsh
- Nick Leverton
- Lysette Nicholls
- Andrew Beaney
- Alaa Al-Yousuf
- Dean Temple
- Jeff Haine
- Michael Brooker
- Andrew Lyon
- Rachel Crouch

Development Control Committee

24/May2023

- Rizvana Poole
- Mark Walker
- Andrew Prosser
- Harry St.John

The Chair of the Council, Councillor Andrew Coles, asked Council for nominations to the position of Chair of Development Control Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

Councillor Elizabeth Poskitt, proposed that Councillor Julian Cooper be appointed to the position of Chair of Development Control Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024. This was seconded by Councillor Andrew Prosser and was put to a vote. The vote carried.

Council Resolved to:

Appoint Councillor Julian Cooper to the position of Chair of Development Control Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

19 Appointment of Vice Chair

The Chair of Development Control Committee, Councillor Julian Cooper, asked Council for nominations to the position of Vice-Chair of Development Control Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

Councillor Julian Cooper, proposed that Councillor Michael Brooker be appointed to the position of Vice-Chair of Development Control Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024. This was seconded by Councillor Andrew Prosser and was put to a vote. The vote carried.

Council Resolved to:

Appoint Councillor Michael Brooker to the position of Vice-Chair of Development Control Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

20 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from:

Councillors Lidia Arciszewska and Dean Temple.

Councillor Andy Graham substituted for Councillor Lidia Arciszewska.

Councillor Alex Wilson substituted for Councillor Dean Temple.

21 Appointment of Sub Committees Lowlands and Uplands

Democratic Services relayed to Council the name of Members who had been nominated to the Council's Lowlands Area Planning Sub-Committee, who were:

Councillors:

- Andy Goodwin;
- Charlie Maynard;
- Alistair Wray;
- Julian Cooper; (as Chair of Development Control Committee)
- Phil Godfrey;

Development Control Committee

24/May2023

- Colin Dingwall;
- Adrian Walsh;
- Nick Leverton;
- Lysette Nicholls;
- Michael Brooker;
- Rachel Crouch;
- Andrew Lyon;
- Andrew Prosser;
- Harry St. John;

Democratic Services relayed to Council the names of Members who had been nominated to the Council's Uplands Area Planning Sub-Committee, who were:

Councillors:

- David Jackson;
- Julian Cooper;
- Hugo Jackson;
- Lidia Arciszewska;
- Tim Sumner;
- Alaa Al-Yousuf;
- Dean Temple;
- Jeff Haine;
- Andrew Beaney;
- Rizvana Poole;
- Mark Walker;

The Chair of the Development Control Committee, Councillor Julian Cooper proposed that Council agree the recommendations in the report including the appointments to the Lowlands and Uplands Area Planning Sub Committee. This was seconded by Councillor Michael Brooker, was put to a vote, and was unanimously agreed by Council.

Committee Resolved to:

Development Control Committee

24/May2023

- 1. Agree that seats on the Lowlands Sub-Committee and the Uplands Sub-Committee will be allocated based on ward rather than political balance, in accordance with Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989;
- 2. Appoint the Chair of the Development Control Committee to the Lowlands Sub-Committee and the Uplands Sub-Committee;
- 3. Appoint a further 13 Members of the Development Control Committee who represent wards in the Lowlands area of the district to the Lowlands Sub-Committee;
- 4. Appoint a further 10 Members of the Development Control Committee who represent wards in the Uplands area of the district to the Uplands Sub-Committee;
- 5. Agree that the Vice Chair of the Development Control Committee will attend meetings of the Sub-Committee they are not appointed to as a non-voting member;
- 6. Note that any Member of the Council, having undertaken planning training, is permitted to substitute for a Member of a planning sub-committee, in accordance with the wishes of the Member being substituted;

Additional recommendation 7:

7. Request that the Constitution Working Group review the rules around the sizes of the planning sub-committees.

The Meeting closed at 2.30 pm

CHAIR